Coming this week: Guardians of the Galaxy (2014 Film)

Guardians of the Galaxy will be released July 31, 2014.

This week, it’s time to see the how Marvel’s next film fares in the slow 2014 year, Guardians of the Galaxy.

 

Produced by Marvel Studios, it follows five outlaws who must save the galaxy from Ronan and Thanos.

 

This was one film I thought for sure was going to disappoint. Why? Well when I went to go see Captain America: The Winter Soldier, I saw the trailer for this. It had me laughing and impressing me, but as time went on, it started to look more and more like nothing more than a shoved together space opera film with a talking raccoon.

 

The more and more people talk positive about this, the more I came to realize, I may have been wrong about this movie.

 

I strongly believed this was a clinker for two reasons:

 

#1 Not familiar with audiences: This plays a big factor with movies now days. If you do not have a name for yourself, don’t expect to be the next successful thing. In some cases this 50/50 when you look at it, names like Frozen succeeded with originally, while Edge of Tomorrow faltered a bit,  this is two different names in different genres though, which could affect how it does with what original material they  are using.

 

#2 Marvel taking a shot in the dark: From everything about this, it is completely a shot in the dark, it can either flop badly or succeed and hit records no one thought possible. And the fact that a sequel is going to be released July 2017 proves without a doubt Marvel/Disney is confident with this project and that the shot in the dark will hit the bull’s eye. If it does not, well they’ll probably just cancel the sequel or put it on hold.

 

Now these reasons I’ve listed are not how I feel about it today, because I’ve decided to just let fate decide how this movie goes.

 

But this is one movie you the audience has to decide, not letting critics or Marvel or Disney push your decision to pay $10.50 for their picture. Don’t pressure yourselves into watching it because it is apart of the Marvel Cinematic Universe, or see it just to prove a point to someone. I myself plan on seeing it before I give a final judgment on this, and to decide my own opinion, as you should.

 

Guardians of the Galaxy is set to be released July 31, 2014 in IMAX 3D and 3D.

Leave a comment